New Aussie

Hey guys,

I've signed up. My wife just gave me a voucher for Aus CSS tonight for my birthday. We both ride. I have a CBR600F4i and she has a 2008 Ducati Monster 696. Now the skiting (the voucher and my wife's ride) is out of the way...

Couple of questions. I've never done a CSS before. I have done the Stayupright Intermediate and Advanced I and Advanced II (braking and cornering).

Now, I know I am not Rossi - the first sign of failure is overconfidence. It's almost a sure sign that you're a know-all bastard too!

But I'm wondering if doing Level 1 of CSS will be a 'step back' from the Stay Upright training I've done? I don't want to start an us v them argument, so just a factual thing would be good. I know about corner fixation, eye position, body movement, smoothness and so on. Or... is it just different? What should I expect?

Any tips and stuff welcome.

Hey Dids,

Welcome mate, I haven't done any of the stay upright courses so can't advise you on comparisons between the two but I doubt doing the level one CSS will be a step back (I had a ball). Do you intend doing your course in August? If so I might see you out there.

But I'm wondering if doing Level 1 of CSS will be a 'step back' from the Stay Upright training I've done? I don't want to start an us v them argument, so just a factual thing would be good. I know about corner fixation, eye position, body movement, smoothness and so on. Or... is it just different? What should I expect?

Dids;

Your question pops up from time to time here and no one can tell you that you will not be taking a "'step back'" but I can tell you that everyone starts at Level I bar none. There is a very well defined approach that Keith Code has perfected for thirty years now and each level builds upon the previous one; to skip a level will cause a student to miss part of the foundation they build so no one gets a pass to a higher Level.