Hello From Germany (Introduction)

Hi, my name is Uli (52 y/o, male, 2009 fireblade), I'm from Germany (near swiss border, black forest, turns and turns everywhere, a bikers paradise).

I've been driving motorcycles on and off for 35 years now . I just read TOTW 1 + 2 , I find it quite amazing that I drive turns now faster and safer (with 0 to 10 degrees Celsius outside) than during summer (which is both good and embarressing ;-) ) . I've attended several motorcycle security trainings but what you guys teach people is way beyond anything I've ever gotten as "good advice"...

what can I say.....thank you :-)

Uli

welcome Uli,

I have riden alot of your roads between Germany, Switzerland, and Austria and they really are quite amazing, anyway get posting about the areas of the books that opened your eyes the most!

Bobby

welcome Uli,

I have riden alot of your roads between Germany, Switzerland, and Austria and they really are quite amazing, anyway get posting about the areas of the books that opened your eyes the most!

Bobby

Hello Bobby, :-)

I'm all into TOTW 2 (got me both the book and the DVD)

My biggest improvements came from:

-the throttle rule ("once the throttle is cracked open....") : I used to be a "let it roll"-guy, not really paying any attention to when and where I rolled on the throttle... now I have this new safe feeling going through turns.. it's a diffence like day and night.

-"Power steering" : you know, I had already thought about getting superbike handlebars for my fireblade, but that's all history now... the blade is perfect as it is for flipping it into corners using the "power steering" method.

-Too tight on the bars : I had never really held on to the bars, but not leaning on the bars conciously added more safety, especially when going downhill.