Increasing Lean Angle

boroboy69

So this question may sound rather simple but I think no matter ones experience level, many could benefit from the answers. Here is my question: I have been riding for 2-3 years now and I practice all the proper body positioning techniques, however, recently I took pictures coming into several corners to study what I am doing but my lean angle is very shallow and I'm not "hanging" way off. The corners feel great, the bike is stable and no issues other than I can't seem to get the bike to layover to strong lean angles. When I am cornering, it feels as if I am leaning over quite a bit, yet the pictures show otherwise. Considering my body positioning is proper, what else could I be doing that would not generate considerable lean angle, or in general what tips would you give to increase anyone's lean angle?( The corner I am using I have been hitting around 40-50 mph)

Let me ask you this,

Are you keeping a solid line or are you finding yourself adjusting mid corner? Are you quick turning or being lazy? Is your upper body in line with your lower body?

From my understanding deep lean angles are cool for pictures but adding increased lean angle when it is not needed for the turn makes your body positioning awkward and the turn isn't as smooth or fast.

Saying your corner speed is 40-50mph doesn't really help much, it's kinda like saying "in T7 I don't know if I can go faster or not" without a video or picture of the turn it's hard to say if that speed is even sufficient for a deeper lean angle. You may be taking the turn properly but just because your knee isn't on the ground doesn't mean you didn't do it right.

Hope this helps.

I think the biggest possible tip one could give for increasing lean angle would be, Attend a CSS school.