Draggin' The Line.....

greenbike58

I'm a novice, finished Level 1 last Sept and awaiting Level 2 in the Spring with Keith. I ride a '99 GSXR600 fully set up for racing and will be hopefully doing some novice racing with NESBA in my area this Summer. Problem: I have been having a difficult time getting my knee down far enough to actually touch the ground on a corner. Seems like I'm going fast enough but it just doesn't seem to reach. I have seen the technique of Keith doing it on the Twist of the Wrist video, and I see others do it routinely but it's not working for me. I'm getting set up with my butt cheek half and half before the corner, getting the leg out there as much as possible when I lean (I'm a little bit tight jointed and it doesn't just flop out there loosely) and I cannot seem to get over enough to touch.

I went down to a track day near me first part of November and had one of the instructors look at me. His opinion was that I wasn't going fast enough in corners and when my speed increases, the knee pad will touch.

Any suggestions?

Gotta get the speed up!!! It's scary at first, but ya gotta get over. You can spend all the money you want on schools, but your the one that has to get the knee down...:o

Have to trust your tires. Don't think the pros keep their bikes up just on skill alone. The tires are doing all the work, they just need to know when to say when and work them. Can't trust the tires or bike, you'll never get it. Everytime I go riding or to the track, I figure I'm gonna bust my ass, so I get use to it. Have I?? No, not yet and with 6 track days and about 30k of twistie riding, I did a light spill at Deals Gap. Got up and started knee dragging the next corner. Go for it!!! I'm 45 and having a blast!!

http://www.sportbikes.net/forums/attachmen...&postid=1551565

http://www.track-dayz.com/Pictures/Eddy/11...903/1591-17.jpg

And I do it with a ZRX......of course it's the fastest bike out there......... :D:P

Greetings,