Trail Braking---not That Fastest Way, But They All Do It

So to say the least, I am a student of going fast. Furthermore I agree with the physical fact that one cannot go through a corner while on the brakes (even a tid bit) faster than one can go through a corner off the brakes. So! with this physical fact of traction known, why do all the top/winning AMA riders do it? constantly! --and not just for passing and block passing.

I have been studying the close ups and hand movements of certain top 5 riders and I can distincly see them trailing in to more than half the corners as Miller Motorsports Park. I am still a believer that off brakes and a quick turn is the fastest way, so I am confused on how the AMA top riders are pulling 1:50's at Miller by trailing. Furhtermore, I was examining the engine noise of Hayden's on-bike-camera during the Race at Miller, and its clear that he is off the gas and compression braking and/or trailing into nearly all the corners. On the gas late (post apex) and still running 1:51's. Thats FAST!

I was there for the first time myself last week, and I realize the dynamic of a corner may dictate several fast ways through it. And I also nowticed the long corners, and double apex, reducing radius corners at Miller may be condusive to trailing, but I'm just flat out confused....

help?

Cobie?

Keith?

Stu?

James?

Misty?

Josh?

ect?

• Replies 84
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You can watch the same thing with motogp. When they show the throttle and brake applications of the riders on the telecast you can see them all trailing the brakes into the turn.

I suspect that you will hear that it is an advanced skill that only has a place in racing and not in all turns.