How Do I Go About Changing My Riding Style?

Thielert

After reading some of the threads on this forum I've come to the conclusion maybe it's time to adjust my style of riding. As background, I am fairly new to the sport riding scene, having ridden them six years and and a little over 60,000 miles and currently own an '11 ZX-10R, '09 ZX-6R, '07 CBR1000RR and an '06 ZX-14.

I am certainly no cornering guru but seem to have learned enough over the years to be able to keep pace with the faster guys on our road rides. All of my riding is road, no track or racing experience to date.

My style of riding is conventional, I'm not afraid of deep lean angles or fast sweepers but I do not hang off much at all. I stay fairly centered on the bike, moving my bum over tho the edge of the seat a bit but I'm not a mirror kisser and like to keep my knees tucked in even when cranking the bike way over.

I guess my question, is it worth it now to change to a more hang off the bike style if I'm not going to be doing any track? I've started trying to change things up but it's messing with my head as it seems strange. Riding fast and smooth is all about confidence and I feel like I'm starting to learn to ride all over again.:unsure:

According to German magazine MOTORRAD, hanging off have these major effects:

1. Takes more energy (pushing the bike down takes the least amount of effort followed by sitting still and upright) since you must move your body constantly

2. Takes longer to change direction (when already leaned well over)

3. Reduce sight due to head position (unless the corner is wide open)

4. Possible to keep a higher cornering speed

5. Enhance stability

Thanks Eirik, for street and backroad riding, the negative aspects of developing a hang off the side style may outweigh the positives. Roadracing is a different animal altogether.

+1