Learning To Trust My Tires

noamkrief

I've been to the track 3 times this month and very new to all this...

My main hurdle right now is that I don't trust the motorcycle - specifically the tires.

I've been riding for 3 months in total now so I don't even trust the bike over grooves on the highway yet - trying to avoid them at all cost.

Here is my track day this saturday:

http://youtu.be/E3Uq17QtHCY?hd=1

On sunday I worked on body position for the entire day and got my upper body more relaxed, and also getting my upper body to hang off a bit more and shoulders pointing into the turn more... (no videos from sunday).

My question is simple, If i'm in a turn and I lean more (body and bike) what will happen? I feel like if I lean more, the bike will "give up" and fall down - lowside.

Once in a while i'm in a turn and I feel like I need to tighten just a tad bit more. I stay on maintenance throttle and countersteer to lean just a little extra. That little extra lean ads tons more cornering force, The bike dives in to the inside and I feel like there is no possible way these tires are going to stay sticking to the ground.

I keep watching videos like this:

I feel like that's going to happen to me if I lean over any further.

I'm on BT016 bridgestones right now. I'm going to put some track tires hopefully that will help me trust the tires a bit more because right now everything in me refuses to lean any further. It's almost like i'd rather go off the track and run wide rather than lean further. I just flat out refuse...

Here is some of what of I feel: That at a certain angle, i'll hit the sharp edge of the tire, and my contact patch will be as tiny as a needle. At this point, my tire will surly give up and slide!!!!!

lean.jpg

The other thing is that my tire is chewed up all the way to the edge on both sides. Woohoo - no more chicken strips!!! So why should I attempt to lean further when I'm obviously all the way to the edge of the tire???