The Mind Of A Champion

Jaybird180

I just finished reading some interviews with Ben Spies, Casey Stoner, Nicky Hayden and Josh Herrin. For quite some time, I've been a student of the championship mindset and the distinctions are becoming clearer the wiser I get as to the differences to champions and non-champions.

From Nicky's interview I learned that he has an incredible humility. Even though he himself is a World Champion, he feels honored to be teamed up with another World Champion.

Casey has a never quit attitude, get it done regardless.

Spies' attitude says, 'I'm well prepared for what lies ahead'. Mladin was the training ground on which he cut his teeth. Even going as far as saying, "A couple people have warned me that I'm going to have to watch out for so-and-so in World Superbike, and that they'll slice you up or play games with you… Listen, I'm on vacation at these races. No sweat, I'm ready to go out and have fun."

I hope that someone can chime in and prescribe some material on creating, developing and grooming the MIND OF A CHAMPION.

A question for Keith I'd say. He's still in Oz, due back late next week, then almost immediately to Vegas for schools. I also like reading the interviews with the top crew chiefs, and their views on champions. Like Kel Carruthers, Erv Kanemoto, Jeremy Burgess to name a few.

There for sure have been guys with the talent, but not the al-round package to get and stay at the top. Like Anthony Gobert. Man, what a rider!

A question for Keith I'd say. He's still in Oz, due back late next week, then almost immediately to Vegas for schools. I also like reading the interviews with the top crew chiefs, and their views on champions. Like Kel Carruthers, Erv Kanemoto, Jeremy Burgess to name a few.

There for sure have been guys with the talent, but not the al-round package to get and stay at the top. Like Anthony Gobert. Man, what a rider!